Is Twitter Entertaining?

James Greiff thinks so. I guess if all you did was keep up with what is happening at Twitter and you really didn’t care much as for what it is, he’d have a point, inasmuch that watching corporate power-plays are interesting. The only conclusion I can draw from Twitter’s history is that it doesn’t know what it is, it isn’t critical to life, and it is running out steam. That sounds like someone who hasn’t figured out what to do with themselves on a corporate level, doesn’t it?

Twitter made $2 billion last year. Although I understand the basics of how it would do so, for the life of me, I can’t understand why anyone would do something that would make money for Twitter. Then again, I waited forever to even bother with Twitter (if one uses Twitter, is one a twit?) and then after a few weeks, I gave up.

Twitter had no original news – only links to other places I was already visiting. The people I ran across either said stuff I knew about or were grossly immature. It was difficult to get content from Twitter to other places, so even when I liked something, I forgot about it in a few days. Magazines were relentlessly self-promoting, as if I had signed up for a barrage of navel-gazing. In the end, I abandoned Twitter because I never found the value-add. Maybe I should have been there longer or put in more effort? I never felt that I missed anything when I wasn’t there. Twitchy does everything I need.

Twitter’s problem is this: it doesn’t do much that matters. It seems to be just a playground for people hurling insults at each other, playing gotcha politics, or wasting time; however, at least it drains the swamp. People who would ordinarily be polluting blogs now have a 140-character near-instant feedback game they can drown themselves in instead. Such an audience can prove difficult to manage long term. Perhaps that’s why Twitter become a content curator (“Here is what you peons should be reading! We have spoken!”), and become increasingly ham-fisted? Apparently you’re supposed to believe certain things and if enough people don’t like you, you’ll get thrown out of the popular clique. All of this begs the question, “Why would I want to relive jr. high?”

In short, as Twitter becomes more and more like a liberal playground utopia, it finds that its financials are headed into a nose dive. That, and it may even becoming passe`. Who could have ever thought that the market for a 140-character messaging system would eventually dry up? Twitterific!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

